top of page

The Origins of Pilates

Joseph Pilates, the founder of the method was born in Germany in 1883. With a fragile constitution, he never stopped observing the animal world, analytically studying the mechanics of the body, the architecture of movement and posture, intensely practicing yoga, martial arts, boxing, bodybuilding and gymnastics to build a strong body and mind.

Prisoner in England in a camp during the 1st World War, he undertakes to help the wounded to recover their health via  a physical activity program that he perfected with strap systems and bed springs.

This is the birth of the reformer, the emblematic device of the method. In any case, it is observed that the sick practicing recover more quickly, and that the able-bodied practicing are less subject to the diseases then plethora in these conditions of war. Back in Germany, the government of the time asked him to train the enlisted youth, which he refused.

He therefore migrates to the United States of America, and it is during the boat crossing of the Atlantic Ocean that he meets his wife Clara, who will work alongside him and perpetuate the technique.

Boxers and circus artists practiced from the very beginning of the studio opened on 8th Avenue in NY by Joseph and Clara at the end of the 1920s. The dancers were also among the first followers of the method: Georges Balanchine like Marta Graham sent their students to Joseph Pilates for training or functional rehabilitation. When the whole of New York learns that ballerinas are doing Pilates, the craze is not long in coming and the practice begins to become popular.

Several of Joseph Pilates' students have made significant contributions  to disseminate its teachings, and participated in making it today a technique recognized throughout the world.

It was Romana Kryzanowska, dancer in Balanchine's company, student and protege of "Uncle Joe" as those who knew him called her, who was the designated heiress to continue the work of Joseph Pilates. 

She was supported in this immense task by Clara, by her peers, then by the second generation of students who are committed to maintaining the integrity and standards of a method whose acuity is always verified.

" Breathing,  Concentration,

Control,  Precision, Fluidity,

            Center"

"A good physical form is a prerequisite for happiness"   Joseph Pilates, Return to life through contrology

Classic Pilates

Thought as a combo between functional rehabilitation and physical preparation,  classic Pilates - through the exploration and mastery of movement - offers a different experience of your body and allows you to harmoniously develop all its skills:

  • Practiced in a logic of health and well-being, beyond the gradual transformation of posture and silhouette, regained energy, or the improvement of physical qualities (mobility, balance, strength, endurance... ) it is the relief and prevention of various bodily ailments - including the management of chronic pain - that are directly targeted.

  • The precision and intelligence of movement in pilates serve to build a strong and flexible body at the same time.

  • At each session, the gentle mobilization of your joints and the strengthening of your deep muscles are associated with the training of your qualities of concentration and imagination.

  • The search for a level of constantly renewed reading of the exercises allows you to refine your feelings, to inhabit your body and to experience the movement with more awareness and joy.

love (2)_edited.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

Les Origines du Pilates

Joseph Pilates, le fondateur de la méthode est né en Allemagne en1883. D'une constitution fragile, il n'aura de cesse d' observer le monde animal, d'étudier de façon analytique la mécanique du corps, l'architecture du mouvement et de la posture, de pratiquer intensément yoga, arts martiaux, boxe, musculation et gymnastique pour se construire un corps et un mental forts.

Prisonnier en Angleterre dans un camp lors de la 1ère guerre mondiale, il entreprend d'aider les blessés à recouvrer la santé via  un programme d'activité physique qu'il perfectionne avec des systèmes de sangles et les ressorts des lits.

C'est la naissance du reformer, appareil emblématique de la méthode. En tout cas, il est observé que les malades pratiquant récupèrent plus vite, et que les valides pratiquant sont moins sujets aux maladies alors pléthore dans ces conditions de guerre. De retour en Allemagne, le gouvernement de l'époque lui demande d'entraîner la jeunesse enrolée, ce qu'il refuse.

Il migre donc vers les Etats Unis d'Amérique, et c'est durant la traversée en bateau de l'océan Atlantique qu'il rencontre sa femme Clara, qui travaillera à ses côtés et pérennisera la technique.

Boxeurs et artistes du cirque pratiquent dès les tout débuts du studio ouvert sur la 8ème avenue à NY par Joseph et Clara à la fin des années 1920. Les danseurs comptent également parmi les premiers adeptes de la méthode: Georges Balanchine comme Marta Graham envoyent leurs élèves vers Joseph Pilates pour de l'entraînement ou de la réhabilitation fonctionnelle. Lorsque le tout New-York apprend que les ballerines font du Pilates, l'engouement ne se fait pas attendre et la pratique commence à se populariser.

Plusieurs des élèves de Joseph Pilates ont largement contribué  à diffuser ses enseignements, et participé à en faire aujourd'hui une technique reconnue à travers le monde.

C'est Romana Kryzanowska, danseuse dans la compagnie de Balanchine, élève et protégée de « Oncle Joe » comme l'appellent ceux qui l'ont cotoyé, qui a été l'héritière désignée pour poursuivre l'oeuvre de Joseph Pilates. 

Elle a été soutenue dans cette immense tâche par Clara, par ses pairs, puis par la seconde génération d'élèves qui ont à coeur de maintenir l'intégrité et les standards d'une méthode dont l'acuité se vérifie toujours.

" Respiration,  Concentration,

Contrôle,  Précision,  Fluidité,

            Centre"

" Une bonne forme physique est une conditon préalable au bonheur"   Joseph Pilates, Return to life through contrology

Le Pilates Classique

Pensé comme un combo entre la réhabilitation fonctionnelle et la préparation physique,  le Pilates classique - à travers l’exploration et la maîtrise du mouvement – offre une expérience différente de son corps et permet d’en développer harmonieusement toutes les habiletés :

  • Pratiqué dans une logique de santé et de bien-être, au-delà de la transformation progressive de la posture et de la silhouette, de l’énergie retrouvée, ou de l’amélioration des qualités physiques (mobilité, équilibre, force, endurance, amélioration du geste technique et sportif…) ce sont le soulagement et la prévention de divers maux du corps - notamment la gestion des douleurs chroniques - qui sont directement visés.

  • La précision et l'intelligence du mouvement en pilates servent à construire un corps fort et souple à la fois, à allier le caractère dynamique de la pratique à son accessibilité à tous.

  • A chaque séance, la mobilisation en douceur de vos articulations et le renforcement de vos muscles profonds sont associés à l'entraînement de vos qualités de concentration et d'imagination.

  • Aussi, la recherche d'un niveau de lecture sans cesser renouvelé des exercises permet de raffiner son ressenti, d'habiter son corps et de vivre le mouvement avec plus de conscience et de joie.

tout près des studios de Pilates Romana àNew-York
bottom of page